The Preakness 2013 Interactive Simulation

by Jerome's Friend

I’m straying from my typical Philadelphia Eagles content here, but in addition to my love for the Birds, my dad has instilled in me a love for the track. Combine that love with an affinity for math and a glutton for punishment, and what you get is a feeble attempt at projecting horse races (unsuccessfully… I share my failures). First up, the Preakness. Click on the image below in order to interact with the simulation. The simulated results will change as you adjust the factors based on what you feel is important. Adjustable factors include Pace, Track Conditions, and Jockey Impact. Please note that this is very much a work in progress and I’m open to feedback. I may add more factors and additional functionality later, so check back for updates before the big race, as well as additional simulations for more races throughout the year.

If this simulation is any indication, things look quite interesting for Orb’s Triple Crown quest. Enjoy.

May 18, 2013 UPDATE: Added Trainer Impact as a filter/factor in the graphic.

June 6, 2013 UPDATE: Click here for the 2013 Belmont Stakes simulation.

Preakness 2013 Simulation

